Multi-boot configuration guide for FydeOS and other operating systems

Note: This tutorial assumes that you are not new to the daily operations of multiple operating systems and have the most basic familiarity. If you find the following content difficult to understand, please seek the help of friends around you or go to FydeOS Chinese Community for help.

0. Preparation

Suitable

This tutorial is suitable for users who want to install FydeOS as a second system into the computer, that is, the target device already has a preferred operating system that can run and can complete basic disk operations.

System Requirements

  • One 64-bit PC, need to support UEFI and start in UEFI mode (CSM mode can be turned on or off)
  • The main operating system that can run normally, such as macOS, Windows or any Linux distribution.
  • The hard disk is partitioned in GPT mode with at least 10GB of free space
  • FydeOS for PC v5.3 and above

1. Make room for FydeOS

You need to free up at least 10G of free disk space for FydeOS to be installed and partition it. Note that this space must exist as a primary partition. The following content shows the operation demonstration on the mainstream operating system:

1.1. Windows system (using Windows 10 as an example)

  • Find “This Computer” in the Windows 10 interface, right-click it, and select “Manage”:

  • Find “Storage” - “Disk Management” on the left side of the “Management” interface that pops up; you can open the disk management component that comes with Windows, as shown below:

  • If you currently only have one main partition (C drive under Windows) and there is enough free space, you need to split a part of the space from this main partition to FydeOS. Right-click the main partition that needs to be split, and select “Compress” from the pop-up options menu:

  • Fill in the size of the space to be vacated in the compression option that pops up immediately. In order to make FydeOS run smoothly afterwards, we recommend at least 20G of space. The number unit to be filled in here is MB. In the example in the figure below, about 50G of space will be split from the main partition. After filling in, click “compress”. Note: For easier identification of specific partitions in the next steps, we recommend that the capacity of the new partition should be different from the capacity of the main partition.

  • It can be seen that there is more free space split in the previous step in the partition legend. We now need to use this remaining space to create a new partition. Right click on it and select “New Simple Volume”:

  • In the option menu of “Specify Volume Size”, just keep the default:

  • In the option menu of “Assign drive letter and path”, select “Do not assign drive letter or drive path”:

  • In the option menu of “Format Partition”, just keep the default:

  • After completing the above steps, Disk Manager will create a new partition for you, as shown in the figure below. The disk for FydeOS is now ready.


1.2. MacOS system (take macOS 10.13 High Sierra as an example)

We can use the “Disk Utility” (Disk Utility) that comes with the system to shrink the existing partition and create a new partition using the free space obtained.

  • Find and start “Disk Utility” in “Utilities” or “Launchpad”:

  • Click the “Partition” button in the top functional area of ​​”Disk Utility”; by default, macOS will place the used partition into the “APFS container” and encourage users to create a new “APFS volume”. Since installing a new operating system really needs to modify the partition table, select “Partition” in the following dialog box that pops up:

  • Click “+” below the pie chart and fill in the name, format and size of the partition to be added in the pop-up dialog box. Among them, we recommend “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)”; in order to make FydeOS run smoothly afterwards, we recommend at least 20G of space. Note: For easier identification of specific partitions in the next steps, we recommend that the capacity of the new partition should be different from the capacity of the main partition.

  • Click “Apply”, the program will summarize the changes just made and let you finally confirm. After confirming that it is correct, click “Partition”:

  • It may take a while for “Disk Utility” to perform the above operations. After everything is completed, click “Finish” and the disk for FydeOS will be created.


1.3. Linux system

If you will use Linux, you should not need additional instructions: p

2. Boot FydeOS via USB

Use this tutorial to put FydeOS into the mobile storage device and use it to boot the system. After the system starts, the welcome screen for the first run will appear, guiding you through some basic setup work, please cooperate with it. This process can ensure that FydeOS runs well on the target device without obvious hardware compatibility issues.

3. Complete the installation of FydeOS on a separate partition through the “Installer” program

  • After entering the FydeOS desktop and keeping the Internet connected for a few minutes, FydeOS will automatically download and install several required components, including the “FydeOS App Store”. Run the “FydeOS App Store” from the program manager, you can find the “Installer” program, click “Add to FydeOS” to install it:

  • After the FydeOS installer starts, select “Multi-boot installation”:

  • Select the target disk in the “Disk” drop-down menu in “Select System Partition” in the upper left corner. The installer will automatically recognize the mobile storage device that FydeOS is currently running and disable this option. In the following example, mmcblk0 is the target disk; the remaining mmcblk0 **** is the extra partition on the disk, which can be ignored:

  • Select the target partition from the “Partition” drop-down menu in “Select System Partition” in the upper right corner. The installer will automatically recognize the size of the target partition. With the steps in “Make Partition for FydeOS” just now, you can use this to reconfirm whether it is the correct target partition. Note: Please make sure that the target partition is the partition where you expect to install FydeOS, because the following steps will completely clear all data under the partition. If you are unsure, please do not continue.
  • After completion, you can continue to complete the “Select EFI Partition”. Normally, the disk of the EFI partition is the same as the disk of the system partition; in the “Partition” drop-down menu of the “EFI partition”, the installer will automatically recognize the EFI partition according to the situation and disable other incorrect options.

  • If your system is not installed with a multi-OS boot manager program, we have prepared rEFInd for you, just turn on the “Install rEFInd” switch, The installer will automatically help you complete the program settings.
  • Click “Install”, the installation program will prompt again, after confirming that it is correct, please click “Confirm” to continue:

  • When the installation script is running, you can see related progress tips. Depending on the read and write speed of the disk, the entire installation process may be relatively long. The waiting time of up to about 30 minutes is normal, please be patient:

  • After everything is completed, click “Restart”:

4. Switch Operating System

If the above installation operations are performed correctly, you will enter the rEFInd operating system selection screen after your device restarts. You can use the keyboard to select the operating system you want to use. We have added icons to FydeOS for your convenience. If you don’t choose, rEFInd will load the last selected operating system by default after a few seconds.

If you did not choose to install rEFInd in the previous step, or you have already installed other operating system boot managers before, you need to set it yourself.

5. FAQ

How long does it take to install?

Under normal circumstances, about 10 minutes or so, depending on the speed of the disk and USB boot device, there will be some fluctuations.


Will the installation process delete or modify the data on my disk

The installer will reformat the partition of the drive you specified, so all the files on the partition will be lost; the installer will also modify some files in the EFI partition to add the operating system boot manager and related setting options. In addition, the installation program will not modify or delete files on other partitions.

Note: This installer and the script to be executed are still in the early testing stage. Although we make every effort to test and guarantee its stability, we cannot be held jointly and severally liable for any data loss caused by our omissions. Please do your own data backup.


After the multi-boot configuration is completed, does the system support OTA upgrade?

Yes.


What if something goes wrong?

Since this multi-start solution and the above-mentioned software tools are still in the early testing stage, in some cases, the installation process may have errors. After the installer detects an error, it will automatically stop the installation process and prompt basic error messages.

You can go to FydeOS Chinese Community for help, and provide detailed error information, hardware information and related operations.

Even if an error occurs during the installation process, in theory the installer will not modify any data on your other disks, so the original operating system will not be affected. You can restart your device, start the previous operating system, delete the partition and merge the free space thus obtained into the main partition to undo the above operations.


After FydeOS is installed, can I install other OS?

Sure, but you have to manually compress the existing partition to make room for the new operating system. Or, delete the partitions of other previous OSs and create partitions for the new OS.

FydeOS 与其它操作系统多启动配置指南

注意:本教程假设你对多种操作系统的日常操作并不陌生且具备最基本的熟悉程度。若你觉得以下内容难以理解,请寻求身边朋友的帮助或者到 FydeOS 中文社区 寻求帮助。

0. 准备工作

适用对象

 本教程适用于希望将 FydeOS 作为 第二系统 安装进计算机里的用户,即目标设备上已有可运行的首选操作系统并可完成基本的磁盘操作。

系统要求

  • 64 位 PC 一台,需支持 UEFI 并且以 UEFI 方式启动(CSM 模式开启或关闭均可)
  • 能正常运行的主操作系统,如 macOS、Windows 或者任一 Linux 发行版。
  • 硬盘以 GPT 方式分区,有至少 10GB 的剩余空间
  • FydeOS for PC v5.3 及以上版本

1. 为 FydeOS 腾出分区

你需要为即将被安装的 FydeOS 腾出至少 10G 的空闲磁盘空间并做分区处理。注意该空间必须以 主分区 的方式存在。以下内容展示在主流操作系统上的操作示范:

1.1. Windows 系统(以 Windows 10 为示例)

  • 在 Windows 10 界面中找到「此电脑」,右键点击之,选择「管理」:

  • 在随即弹出的「管理」界面左侧找到「存储」-「磁盘管理」;即可打开 Windows 自带的磁盘管理组件,如下图:

  • 如果你目前只有一个主分区(Windows 下的 C 盘)并且有足够的剩余空间,则需要从该主分区中拆分出一部分空间给 FydeOS。右键点击需要被拆分的主分区,在弹出的选项菜单中选择「压缩」:

  • 在随即弹出的压缩选项中填写需要腾出的空间尺寸。为了让 FydeOS 之后的运行能更加顺畅,我们推荐至少 20G 的空间。这里需要填写的数字单位是 MB,下图的例子中则将从主分区中拆分出大约 50G 的空间。填好后点击「压缩」。注意:为了更方便地在接下来的步骤中甄别具体的分区,我们建议该新分区的容量应该有别于主分区的容量。

  • 可见在分区图例中多了上一步拆分出的空余空间,我们现在需要用此剩余空间创建一个新的分区。右键点击之,选择「新建简单卷」:

  • 在「指定卷大小」的选项菜单中,保持默认即可:

  • 在「分配驱动器号和路径」的选项菜单中,选择「不分配驱动器号或驱动器路径」:

  • 在「格式化分区」的选项菜单中,保持默认即可:

  • 完成上面的步骤后,磁盘管理器将为你创建一个新的分区,如下图所示。为 FydeOS 准备的磁盘就此制作好了。


1.2. macOS 系统(以 macOS 10.13 High Sierra 为示例)

我们可以使用系统自带的「磁盘工具」(Disk Utility)缩小现有分区,并使用获得的空闲空间创建一个新的分区。

  • 在「实用工具」或者「Launchpad」里找到并启动「磁盘工具」:

  • 点击「磁盘工具」顶部功能区的「分区」按钮;默认情况下,macOS 会将所使用的分区置入「APFS 容器」内,并鼓励用户建立新的「APFS 宗卷」。由于安装新的操作系统着实需要修改分区表,在如下弹出的对话框中选择「分区」:

  • 点击饼图下方的「+」,并在弹出的对话框中填写欲增加分区的名称、格式和大小。其中格式我们推荐「Mac OS 扩展(日志式)」;为了让 FydeOS 之后的运行能更加顺畅,我们推荐至少 20G 的空间。注意:为了更方便地在接下来的步骤中甄别具体的分区,我们建议该新分区的容量应该有别于主分区的容量。

  • 点击「应用」,程序会把刚才的修改汇总并让你最后确认。确认无误后,点击「分区」:

  • 等待「磁盘工具」执行以上的操作,或许需要一点时间。都完成之后,点击「完成」,为 FydeOS 准备的磁盘就此制作好了。


1.3. Linux 系统

如果你会用 Linux 系统,那应该不需要额外的说明 :p

2. 通过 USB 引导启动 FydeOS

通过 该教程 将 FydeOS 进移动存储设备并用其引导启动系统。系统启动后将出现首次运行欢迎画面,引导你完成一些基本的设置工作,请配合之。这个过程可以确保 FydeOS 在目标设备上运行状况良好,无明显硬件兼容性问题。

3. 通过「Installer」程序完成 FydeOS 在单独分区上的安装

  • 进入 FydeOS 桌面并保持互联网联通的状态几分钟后,FydeOS 会自动下载安装几个必须组件,其中包括「FydeOS 应用商店」。从程序管理器运行「FydeOS 应用商店」你可以找到「Installer」这个程序,点击「添加到 FydeOS」安装之:

  • FydeOS 安装程序启动后,选择「多重引导安装」:

  • 在左上角「选择系统分区」的「磁盘」下拉菜单中,选择目标磁盘。安装程序会自动识别目前 FydeOS 正在运行的移动存储设备并禁用掉这个选项。在以下这个例子中,mmcblk0为目标磁盘;余下的mmcblk0****为该磁盘上的多余分区,可忽略:

  • 在右上角「选择系统分区」的「分区」下拉菜单中,选择目标分区。安装程序会自动识别目标分区的大小,配合在刚才「为 FydeOS 腾出分区」的步骤,可以用此来再次确认是否为正确的目标分区。注意:请务必再次确认该目标分区为你期望安装 FydeOS 的分区,因为之后的步骤将完全清除该分区下的所有数据。如果你不确定,请不要继续。
  • 完成后可继续完成「选择 EFI 分区」的填写。通常情况下,EFI 分区的的磁盘与系统分区的磁盘一致;在「EFI 分区」的「分区」下拉菜单中,安装程序会根据情况自动识别 EFI 分区,并禁用掉其它不正确的选项。

  • 如果你的系统并没有安装设置有多操作系统引导启动管理器程序,我们为你准备了 rEFInd,只需要打开「安装 rEFInd」开关,安装器会自动帮助你完成该程序的设置。
  • 点击「安装」,安装程序会再次弹出提示,确认无误后,请点击「确认」继续:

  • 安装脚本运行时,你可以看到相关的进度提示。视磁盘读写速度,整个安装过程可能会比较长,至多 30 分钟左右的等待时间均为正常,请耐心等待:

  • 一切完成之后,点击「重启」:

4. 切换操作系统

如果以上安装操作均正确执行完毕,在你的设备重启之后将会进入 rEFInd 的操作系统选择画面、你可以使用键盘选择欲使用的操作系统。我们为 FydeOS 添加了图标,供你方便选择。如果你不选择,rEFInd 会在几秒钟之后默认载入上次选择的操作系统。

如果你在之前的步骤没有选择安装 rEFInd,或者你之前有已经安装好的其它操作系统启动管理器,则你需要自行对其设置。

5. FAQ

安装需要多久?

正常情况下大约 10 分钟左右,视磁盘和 USB 启动设备的速度会有一定波动。


安装过程会不会删除、修改我磁盘上的数据

安装程序会将你指定的驱动器的分区重新格式化,故该分区上的所有文件将丢失;安装程序亦会修改 EFI 分区中的部分文件以添加操作系统启动管理器和相关设置选项。除此之外,安装程序不会修改、删除其它分区上的文件。

注意:本安装程序和所需执行的脚本仍处在早期测试阶段,虽然我们尽所有努力测试并保障其稳定性,但是我们无法为任何因我们的疏漏造成的数据丢失负任何连带责任。请自行做好数据备份工作。


多启动配置完成后,系统是否支持 OTA 升级?

支持。


出错了怎么办?

由于此多启动方案及以上涉及到的软件工具目前仍处在早期测试阶段,在某些情况下安装进程可能会出现错误。在安装进器检测到错误之后,会自动停止安装进程并提示基本的错误信息。

你可以到 FydeOS 中文社区寻求帮助,并提供详细的错误信息、硬件信息和相关操作。

即便安装进程出现错误,理论上安装器也不会修改你其它磁盘上的任何数据,故原有的操作系统将不受影响。你可以重启你的设备,启动之前的操作系统,将该分区删除并将因此获得的空闲空间并入主分区以撤销以上的操作。


安装了 FydeOS,我还能再安装其他 OS 吗?

当然可以,不过你要手动压缩现有的分区为新的操作系统腾出空间。或者,删除前面其他 OS 的分区,为新的 OS 建立分区。