Private browsing

If you don’t want your browser to remember your activity, you can browse the web in private mode in incognito mode.

Turn on incognito mode

  1. Open the Chromium browser.
  2. Click the “More” icon in the upper right corner, and then select “Open a new incognito window”.
  3. A new window will pop up and display “You have entered incognito mode”.

You can also use keyboard shortcuts to open incognito windows: press Ctrl + Shift + n (press + Shift + n on Mac).

You can switch between the incognito window and the regular window. When using an incognito window, you will only browse privately.

Stop incognito browsing

Incognito mode will be separated from the regular window and run in a separate window.

If you have opened an incognito window and opened another incognito window, your incognito browsing session will continue to run in this newly opened window. To exit incognito mode, close all incognito windows.

What happens when you browse privately

  • The browser will not save your browsing history, cookies and website data, or the information filled in the form.
  • The files you download and bookmarks you create will be retained.
  • The following parties may still see your activities: the websites you visit, your employer or school, your Internet service provider, etc.